Same Sky (bracelets for good).

26 Jul

we’ve posted a lot recently about friendship bracelets (Ayofemi and Bhalo) because we think they’re sweet.

and you know we love bracelets with a mission (again, see Bhalo).  so it follows that we’re giving big hearts to Same Sky.

Same Sky employs HIV+ women (who are also survivors of the Rwandan genocide) to make these glass-bead bracelets, all fair-trade, socially-responsible, and good for us.

my favorites are the fabric wraps, crocheted from Rwandan textiles and named after popular songs (popular, at least, on my iPod):

Tangled Up in Blue

Material Girl

at first I was trying to decide which one to buy, but at only $40 for the fabric wraps, and to support such a meaningful endeavor, I think I’ll just get a few.  and they’ll look awesome layered, too.

Leave a comment