Ah, Venice (part 2).

11 Oct

since Venice is such a touristy city, it’s a great place to shop.  I stumbled on two Bottega Veneta boutiques within five minutes of exiting the water taxi.  score!  I also came across my perennial favorites (and hometown heroes) Vhernier, Roberto Coin, Nardi, and Pomellato.  the windows at Pomellato:

ahhhhh pink ring come home with me!

I’ve wanted some of those baby rings (bottom left) for ages and should have bought them years ago…because now I won’t be satisfied until I get that fish-scale cuff, too.

 

I have a thing for necklaces like this…and for ebony and gold.  so chic.  and slightly reminiscent of my favorite Mardi Gras beads.  Venice is the home of Carnivale!

 

moving on from Pomellato (oh so slowly), I discovered an amazing chandelier shop.

beyond.  Murano is just a 10-minute water taxi ride from Venice, hence the preponderance of beautiful art glass.

masquerade chandelier!

 

I love zodiacs.  this one is in the piazza San Marco.  obviously influenced our friend Temple St. Clair.

 

you have to see the Bridge of Sighs.  it’s under renovation (like much of San Marco) so the effect is rather like a Wim Wenders film.

so many photos, so little time.  part 3 is on its way!

One Response to “Ah, Venice (part 2).”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Etsy Roundup: Masks. « y la rev - December 14, 2010

    […] too many details but it will involve MASKS (if you’ve seen my posts on masks, Mardi Gras and Venice this will come as no surprise).  and as the birthday girl, I’m looking for the perfect […]

Leave a Reply

