inside my mother’s jewelry box

1 Jul

taking advantage of some time at home with the parents to poke around my mom’s jewelry box…

some favorites that remind me of my youth:

a sapphire and diamond flower cocktail ring…art does imitate nature.

a bamboo cuff that opens up to reveal a watch!

British Navy Submariner's DolphinsBritish Naval Submarine Force dolphin pin.  I particularly like the crown (O, Britannia, Britannia rules the sea!), and how the dolphins look a lot like dolphins in pre-classical Greek frescoes:

my mom wears the dolphins as a lapel pin or on a scarf–I think they’d be pretty rad pinned on a turban.  all colonial-India style.  or, conversely, Little Edie Beale style.

2 Responses to “inside my mother’s jewelry box”

  1. Peter Goodall July 27, 2010 at 5:19 AM #

    the sapphire-diamond flower cocktail ring looks great..

  2. MegansBeadedDesigns July 25, 2011 at 8:43 AM #

    Some lovely pieces! I love the ring!

Leave a Reply

